Home

Protein. The most used word in my vocabulary for the past six months without doubt. I think protein features in one out of every ten sentences that exit my mouth. To a certain extent protein becomes a key part of any gym-goers life, as without it goals wouldn’t be reached.

See, I mentioned it three times alone in the first paragraph…

IMG_2176

On a more serious note, protein powder’s are the most popular and quickest way to instantly feed your muscles. A couple of glugs and you can hit your body with 25g (or more) of protein. Who wants to chow down a whole chicken after a workout anyway?

But just how important, and effective, are these powders? Well for skinny guys looking to bulk I believe they are essential. Eating three to four meals a day alone may not be enough to reach your daily protein goal, so that extra source of muscle goodness is required.

Oh, and if your unsure on what your daily protein goal should be check out Bodybuilding’s protein intake calculator!

Without further a due, I will take you through the protein powders I have used and give my thoughts on them in terms of effectiveness, taste, mixability and if I would recommend them!

WHAT PROTEIN POWDERS I HAVE USED


Naked Whey Protein 80wheyprotien_4

Nutritional Facts:
Values based on: Per 100g | Per 30g serving
Energy (kJ) 1621 | 486
Energy (kcal) 390 | 117
Fat (g) 6.5 | 2.0
Fat of which Saturates (g) 5.4 | 1.6
Carbohydrates (g) 9.9 | 3.0
Carbohydrates of which Sugars (g) 8.9 | 2.7
Protein (g) 74.7 | 22.4
Cholesterol (mg) 198 | 59
Sodium (mg) 180 | 54

Why did I choose this protein?: Put simply, I tried out this type of protein because I thought I needed the most natural product on the market. The thought of artifical ingridients freaked me out. The word ‘Naked’ therefore appealed to me greatly.

Did I see any benefits?: I took this during early 2014 when I lifted next to nothing and failed to realise the concept of moving up weights. Therefore the protein proved useless to me. What can I say, I was young and my garage was my gym. 3/10

Flavour and Drinkability?: Chocolate Silk – You can’t go wrong with chocolate, and the added silkiness topped it off. The natural aspect, coupled with the tasty flavour, made this relatively enjoyable to drink. 8/10

Would I recommend it to skinny guys looking to bulk? Absolutely not! The low-ish protein and very low carb content make this a better option for people looking to cut. 2/10


 

Whey Protein 80 (Concentrate)THE-PROTEIN-WORKS-Whey-Protein-80-concentrate

Nutritional Facts:
Values based on: 25g serving | per 100g
Energy (kJ) 427 | 1708
Energy (kcal) 101 | 404
Fat (g) 1.8 | 7.2
Fat of which Saturates (g) 1.5 | 6.0
Carbohydrates (g) 1.5 | 6.0
Carbohydrates of which Sugars (g) 1.5 | 6.0
Protein (g) 20.6 | 82.4
Salt (g) 0.13 | 0.5

Why did I choose this protein?: This paticular product is advertised as ‘all round premium pure protein’ and has won a reward, which is enough to hook in a person like me.

Did I see any benefits?: Once again I took this in 2014 during my inexperienced years, so my training wasn’t intense enough to see any major results. However I did feel this protein gave me the most benefits over that period, so if I used it now I believe it would be a great source of protein. 7/10

Flavour and Drinkability?: Caramel Macchiato – Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the nicest flavour of shake on the market! I would have happily drank several a day lets put it that way. I mixed it with milk and it tasted better than Starbucks. 10/10

Would I recommend it to skinny guys looking to bulk?: This is a tough one. The fact that there are only around 20g of protein per shake raises doubts. However, if mixed with whole milk, instant oats and peanut butter for example, this would be a tasty way to get a quick fix! 7/10


Impact Whey Proteinwhey

Nutritional Facts:

Values based on: 25g serving | per 100g
Per 100g Per Serving *RI
Energy 1740 kJ/412 kcal 435 kJ/103 kcal 5%
Fat 7.5 g 1.9 g 3%
of which saturates 5.0 g 1.3 g 6%
Carbohydrates 4.0 g 1.0 g 0.5%
of which sugars 4.0 g 1.0 g 1%
Protein 82 g 21 g 41%
Salt 0.50 g 0.13 g 2%

Why did I choose this protein?: This was hiding away in the back of a cupboard for a full year before I dusted the cobwebs from it. It’s what I used at the very start of ‘Mission Muscle’. I chose this originally because of it’s popularity and through recommendations from friends.

Did I see any benefits?: This is the perfect protein for wanting to build and sustain muscle mass in my eyes. It proved to be a great starting block for me and I will return to it in the future for sure. It helped me earn some minor improvements after a month of training. Only downside is that it’s more suited to those looking to maintain a certain weight, not gain. 8/10

Flavour and Drinkability: Chocolate Smooth – Rather predictably I went for old faithful, despite their being a whole abundance of flavours to pick from. Simple, effective and tasted like a slightly thicker Yazoo. 7/10

Would I recommend it to skinny people looking to bulk?: Yes, but only if they are getting their dietry needs from other sources too. Taking two of these shakes in between meals will certainley help to gain weight. Once I hit my desired weight I plan to go back to this product, but that’s a long way off. 5/10


MaxiNutrition Progain Extreme

MaxiNutrition_Progain_Extreme

Nutritional Facts:
Value based on: 150g serving | per 100g
Energy, kj 1673 2510
Energy kcal 400 600
Fat g 8.4 13.0
of which saturates g 4.6 7.0
Carbohydrate g 50.9 76
of which sugars g 4.1 6.0
Fibre g 3.0 5.0
Protein g 26.7 40
Salt g 0.8 1.1

Why did I choose this protein?: I figured that the best way I was going to put mass and size on was to buy a protein powder which was tailored to erm..putting mass and size on! I stumbled across this product for half price in Holland & Barrett one day and actually got two for the price of one! Fair to say this lasted me a good three months.

Did I see any benefits?: 100%! This product covered me over three months of my training so it has been my main source of protein powder since I started training. Over that period I gained weight and muscle mass so the benefits were clear to see. 9/10

Flavour and Drinkability?: Strawberry – Well this is where things take a turn for the worse. I can’t say I enjoyed any of the shakes I drank – it was more a case of get them down! In hindsight I wish I has stuck to what I know and gone for the Chocolate flavour. Very thick and gloopy too which didn’t soften the taste. 1/10

Would I recommend it to skinny people looking to bulk?: I would indeed. This is a quality product which will add mass and make you look noticably bigger. However I would suggest looking elsewhere purely because of it’s taste and lumpy nature. 7/10


Hard Gainer Extreme

Myprotein-Hard-Gainer-Extreme

Nutritional Facts:
Values based on: 25g seving | per 100g
Energy 1707 kJ/404 kcal 20%
Fat 6.1 g 9%
of which saturates 1.3 g 7%
Carbohydrates 49 g 19%
of which sugars 10 g 11%
Protein 36 g 72%
Salt 0.2 g 3%

Why did I choose this protein?: After torturing my tastebuds for three months – and because I had used up all the MaxiNutrition product – I needed to try something new. Luckily for me MyProtein had a new year deal on which allowed me to get this hard gainer product for half price. Winner winner.

Did I see any benefits?: I am still using this product so can only judge on what I have seen so far. I feel that adding more to my shakes with this protein provides the best results. I wasn’t seeing a massive change with the protein alone, so I bought some Instant Oats and added them. Those extra carbs have helped me gain more weight since the turn of the year! 8/10

Flavour and Drinkability?: Chocolate Smooth – Shock! After the strawberry flavour put me off for life, it was back to basics. I have sampled banana and vanilla before and they are far too sickly, so I stuck to what I knew. With the added oats, and the fact I take it with water, I often find myself swallowing lumps. A blender sorts that out but it’s not ideal. 6/10

Would I recommend it to skinny guys looking to bulk?: Yes! This is a popular and reliable product which gets you results! Despite it’s average mixability I would say it’s a good alternative to the MaxiNutrition range. 8/10

IMG_2179

Leave a Reply

