Home

Progress

So I felt it was about time I showed you all how far I have come so far on my journey. It’s been a long and sometimes tough six months, but I am proud of the changes I have made in my life.

 

1AUGUST 2015

This photo was the wake-up call I desperately needed! I had so many people telling me how skinny I was but I just didn’t buy it. If anything I thought I was putting weight on at this stage..

If I recall correctly this was taken a week or so before I started weight training. As you can imagine the first session wasn’t the most pleasant. I couldn’t move my arms for a week!

Weight: 12st 3lb

 SEPTEMBER 20152

A month in and I was still managing to make the trip to the gym up to five times a week. I was pleasantly surprisingly myself as deep down I doubted my will power and commitment.

Out of all the weeks I have been training I can say without hesitation that these were the hardest. The early stages are filled with moments of doubt and low self-esteem – not to mention the lack of evident progress.

A month in and you can see I have put a bit of weight on…well at least my rib-cage isn’t as visible!

Weight: 12st 5lb

3NOVEMBER 2015

Two months down the line and there are signs I have made progress since the summer. My ribcage is back making a special appearance, but my body looks more toned than it was in September.

This was the month I knew that I would be continuing what I was doing for a long time. The feeling I got after a good session was the same satisfaction I got when I completed a long run.

At this stage I could also feel myself getting stronger as I started moving up the weight rack. Still got a pigeon chest mind…

Weight: 12st 8

DECEMBER 2015

With the cold winter nights drawing in I’m sure I was not alone in having a drop in4 motivation. This was the month which I knew I would be attending several events; therefore I knew I wouldn’t be as consistent as the months prior to December.

Despite this I felt I trained well enough and saw more progress by the time new year rolled around. Obviously a few pounds had been gained thanks to the copious amount of food and drink over Christmas – something which I was not complaining about in the slightest.

My transformation from running to weight training had got off to a great start, and I knew that 2016 would be a big year.

Weight: 12st 10

JANUARY 2016

5The yearly January slump in fitness had not bitten me this time around, with this month being my most productive yet.

After returning to the gym five times a week, as I had been before Christmas, my attitude and determination levels rose to new heights.

My arms were in a much better place than they were in August, along with my shoulders, however my chest and lats are two points I need to focus on in the coming months.

Weight: 13 stone 1

NOW

So here we are today! Six months since I began my journey I feel I have made significant progress. I have gained just shy of a full stone thanks to a change in my diet – coupled with consistent training.6

Now where do I go from here? My ideal weight is 14 stone, but I don’t feel that is achievable in the near future due to my rapid metabolism! So the short term goal is 13 stone 5 by the summer, which I feel I am firmly on course to hit.

These first six months of training have only been the start of what is going to be a long road. The picture on the right may not impress a lot of people, but for me its a massive achievement.

Current weight: 13 stone 2

SIX MONTHS PROGRESS

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

